Leveraging Our Experience

To Simplify Complex Legal Problems

Five types of alimony in Florida

On Behalf of | Aug 4, 2021 | Family Law

By the time a Brooksville area couple decides to get a divorce they have already gone through a lot of stress, anxiety, and worry about their future. A spouse may wonder if they will be receiving alimony after a divorce. Florida offers several types of alimony, and the court may award it based on many factors.

In Florida there are five types of alimony.

  1. Temporary alimony: provides income for a spouse during the divorce proceedings.
  2. Bridge-the-gap alimony: provides income for a spouse while transitioning from married to single. This type of support cannot exceed two years and terminates upon death or remarriage.
  3. Rehabilitative support: this is one of the more common types of alimony in Florida. It is awarded in cases where one spouse can become self-supportive but needs time to acquire education or training. The court requires a specific and defined rehabilitative plan in order to award this type of alimony.
  4. Durational support: this type of alimony has a set time limit however the spouse receiving it does not need a rehabilitative plan. The alimony cannot last longer than the marriage.
  5. Permanent alimony: This type of alimony is rare and is only awarded in situations where the marriage lasted a long time and the spouse doesn’t have a way to become self-supporting in the future. The supported spouse may be disabled, elderly or have a minor child with special needs.

A legal professional who is skilled in family law can help their client understand what their alimony options may be for their divorce. They understand their client may need help both during the divorce and in the years to follow and will make sure the settlement is fair and appropriate.